top of page

The Job Search: A Dark Hole or A Time for Growth

As many of you know, finding the perfect job is not easy whatsoever. It requires a lot of personal reflection, dedication, and most importantly human interaction.


At the very beginning, I was so back and forth with what I wanted to do. I was trying to convince myself that something personally unrealistic in my own life was actually meant for me. For instance, I thought I should go to grad school right out of undergrad, or do a year of service.


Not to say that these options aren't incredible opportunities. Honestly, there are days where I still think of these as potential roads to take, but right now I know I want to gain experience in a full-time job.


So in the beginning, I had no idea what I wanted to do and found myself in a dark hole of anxiety. I thought that I would never be capable to find a job fit for who I was and what I wanted to achieve.


I later found out that just because I don't have a Ph.D. or masters degree, doesn't mean that I don't have the tools and capacity to start my career.


Once I got out of my own head, I confronted my own self-doubt and matched it with the positivity of what it will feel like when I do land that dream job opportunity.


My words of advice are to stay positive, apply to anything you think might be a good fit even if you have it in your head that you aren't qualified. Step outside your comfort zone and talk to people... you would be surprised at who knows who and where you might get a lead on a job.


Words of wisdom: There will be rejection, but don't take it personally! Use it to build yourself up and move forward in your process. Believe me, it's hard and I am still dealing with it everyday, but knowing that someday soon I will land that job..... now thats what really keeps me motivated!


26 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page