top of page

Losing a Pet: More Than Just a Furry Friend

There is something so special about the bond between a puppy and his/her master. Pets are more than just animals. They are a part of whatever family they're brought into. They're our friends, supporters, and cuddle buddies.


Our pets are the definition of unconditional love. No matter what we've done in the past, no matter our mistakes, challenges, successes, and goals, our pets love us unconditionally.


You may think that this is a very out of the blue post, and it is.... but there is always a reason.


Just today my family lost one of our biggest fluffy buddies, Coopie. Coopie was way WAY more than just a regular dog. He represented more to us than just a pet.


You see, Coopie was originally my Grandpa's dog. As an Old English Sheep Dog, he was bread to herd. But Coopie didn't herd sheep, he herded people. Coopie and my Grandfather were the best of pals. Coop was my Grandpa's protector. If anyone got near him he would herd them away.


Those two did everything together. You would see my Grandfather driving down the street in his tan LeBaron convertible with his ray bands on, shirt collar popped, and ripped jean shorts from the goodwill out in their truest form. Of course, in the passenger seat beside him was COOPIE! He was so majestic and distinguished. He sat tall and always had a smile on his face and his head out the side of the car. He would eat steak, pie, and any other human food you could imagine off of my Grandpa's fork.


When my Grandfather was passing, we had no idea who Coopie would end up with. Little did we know, Coop already had his mind made up. He naturally was drawn to my dad and quickly formed the same bond with my father that he had with my Grandfather. Coopie would sit in my dad's family room all propped up on "his" leather couch and stare at everyone else like they had no right to sit on his thrown. He was a king!


He was my dad's best friend. A lover and a cuddler, despite his large and fluffy body. He would chase my other little dog around, get scared and then run away from the little fluff ball. Cooper has meant more to all of us than just a dog.


Cooper was an extension of the memories we had of my grandfather. You hear about dogs having similar personalities as their owners. Coopie was that of my Grandfather. He was kind, loving, caring, and probably had judgements about people but was always respectful. Coopie will always be my big black and white polar bear.


Thank you Coopie for being so much more to all of us. Thank you for watching over dad and Grandpa, for keeping us on our toes when you ran away, and for always putting a smile on people's faces.


So after telling you what Cooper has meant to me and my family, I hope you go home and cuddle with your furry friend. Tell them how much you love them.


I always say keep looking forward, but at the same time, cherish the moments that you have with the one's you love because sometimes those moments won't last as long as you would hope.


Stay happy, love everyone, be in the present, and look forward to all the good things that will come for you.


In Loving Memory of Cooper "Coopie" Ortolani.




30 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page