top of page

My Trip To "The Windy City"

Updated: Aug 25, 2019

Where do I even begin? I hadn't been to Chi-town for the longest time, and whenever I have visited it was during the cold winter months when the wind is unbearable, the cold weather is over the top, and there is not a soul to be seen on the streets.


My experience this past summer was the complete opposite of my childhood memories.

When I first walked out the doors of the O'hare Airport, the sun hit my face and everyone around me was smiling. As I entered the car I ordered, my Lyft driver greeted me with the most genuine hello and asked where I was from. The people were great, and the sites where even more FANTASTIC!


So what did I do while I was in the beautiful City?

Here's a list of the underrated and not-so-touristy things I did that might be appealing to you:


1. Ride bikes along the lake.

The Divvy bikes are a life changer and a dollar saver when trying to see the sights and avoid driving. The views while bike riding next to the lake was so picturesque. All you'll want to do is jump into the shiny blue waters.



2. Get ice cream from Jeni's in Wrigleyville.

if you are lactose intolerant, don't worry! They have some of the best sorbet options out there. I strongly recommend the Rose Sorbet in one of their homemade waffle cones.The Rose Sorbet is non-alcoholic but tastes like the real deal. And you can sample as many flavors as you wish!!



3. Take a boat ride through the Chicago River.

Walking the streets to see all the buildings is great and all, but to see the extraordinary architecture from the river on a sunny day is like a dream come true. You'll never see anything much like it.



4. Take a trip to the USWNT Fan Store.

If you're a soccer fan, you will want to make a stop at the USWNT headquarters to get a picture with every World Cup Trophy that the Women's National team has won. While you're there you will, with out a doubt, want to pick up some team gear!



5. Stop by the Polo Mansion on Michigan Ave. to see the impeccable artistry of the fashion and designs.

Maybe you'll even find something on sale that you are so inclined to purchase. I know I did!




6. All you Buffalonians out there have to check out Lincoln Station.

Lincoln Station supplies all the Buffalo foods that you might be missing while on your trip. From chicken finger subs to beef on weck, you won't be disappointed as you sit and watch the Bills game on the TVs at Lincoln Station.



7. Love Bagels? How about a classic New York Bagel? If yes, go to Taste of New York Bagels and Deli.

Their bagels are shipped and made fresh daily from NYC. They are warm, crisp, and will not disappoint.




8. Parson's Chicken and Fish is the perfect summer spot to eat some food, grab a drink, and play some ping pong with a group of friends.


These Local Spots will blow your mind! Yes, The Bean is usually a key tourist spot, but these are the hidden gems.



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page