top of page

"Student-Athlete": More Than Just a Title

Updated: Jul 30, 2019

The title of "Student- Athlete" is not always seen as a positive title by those who never experience the lifestyle. A lot of people correlate "Student- Athletes" with fraises like "dumb jocks" or "athletic cult member". This could not be farther from the truth.


As a member of a team for the past nine years, I have learned not only the value of teamwork, but also dedication, accountability, communication, loyalty, and straight up relationships in general. My fellow (former) student-athletes out there might agree with me when I say that there are two important responsibilities that come with such a title. There is "the student" and then there is "the athlete". We learn to manage these responsibilities, not on our own, but with the guidance and help of our teammates, friends, professors and supporters.


As I look back at my time as a member of the Canisius College Women's Rowing Team, I can definitely say that it was hard as hell! But to be completely honest with you, I wouldn't change it for the world. Yes, I often wasn't placed where I wanted to be on the team and thought I wasn't being valued as much as the rest. Although, as time went on I learned that my place on the team was a hidden treasure in and of itself.


Time and time again I was ranked with the younger and less experienced girls on the team. This often sent me into a downward spiral of thinking I was never good enough. I looked at the rest of the team and often felt as if I was obsolete at times and had extreme FOMO for the speed that the other girls were gaining.


Rowers tend to be extremely competitive and racers by nature. There's a thrill that comes with getting on the water in a boat of women and feeling this immense speed being generated by one united force. That incredible speed that I had often felt before was often put on the back burner. I had to dial it back as I played a role in expanding the competitive nature of the newer girls, and instilling those instincts as the less experienced teammates grew within the sport.


So why am I telling you all of this? I strongly believe that we can learn lessons in everything we do. I've learned that despite my own self doubt about my position on the team, everyone still looked up to me in ways I never even recognized. I was the one that people came to when they needed advice, the one that infused others with a positive mindset, and I was the one that kept pushing myself no matter what situation I was in. I learned that no matter where you stand, there is always room for growth, and my own self-growth in turn allowed for others to grow as well.


For all those student-athletes (& non-student athletes) out there.... NEVER give up! The lessons you gain from your personal adversities are treasures and tools to keep with you as you LOOK FOWARD on your life journey.


Spring Training 2017


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page